An Interview With Actar

Recently, I was interviewed by Singapore Media News Site OMY! over my figure collection. You can view the interview below:


Original article: here.

However, since they only had 4 minutes, a number of things were cut out. Read on for the complete interview:

– When did you start collecting?

I started building up my collection more than two years ago and since then, my collection has grown exponentially, comprising of figures and merchandise of characters and mecha from various Anime series.

– Why do you collect figures?

Many figure collectors base their collections on a figure’s details, sculpt, paintjob and overall appeal. However, my passion for figure collecting stems from my love of Anime, and the intriguing stories and memorable characters that Anime offers.

A figure is meant to be a real physical representation of a 2D character and it is supposed to capture the character’s essence. When I acquire a figure of a character I like, I can appreciate the significance of the figure more. I also collect to show my support for a particular series that I like.

– About how much money have you spent on these figures?

Way too much. However, being thrifty on other aspects of my life and selling the things I’ve lost interest in helps sustain this hobby.

– Are your parents supportive of your interest?

Like all parents, they think it’s a waste of money and I’m sure many people with hobbies can relate to that. But it’s never really a waste if you are spending on something you love.

– What do you think of people who say that Anime and Figures are meant for children.

First off, let me address the common misconception that Anime is for children. People have to understand that Anime is an art form that can convey a myriad of stories. While there are indeed Anime that are made for children like Pokemon, most Anime that are produced now are for Teenagers and Adults that deal with mature themes and complex story lines.

Similarly, figures based on Anime characters are mostly targeted towards adults as these figures have an unprecedented amount of detail and quality that only an older audience can appreciate.

– In Singapore, this is an interest not many will take on. Do you interact with other collectors?

While I don’t meet up with other collectors face to face often, we do interact on a day to day basis on online forums. Also, there are more and more conventions and events held in Singapore that celebrate Anime and other aspects of Modern Japanese Visual Culture as it continues to gain popularity. Examples of such events would be Anime Festival Asia, Cosfest and End of Year. Numerous collectors, including myself take these conventions as opportunities to get together.

– I understand that you had been featured on a Japanese Anime Magazine (or something along that line). Can you talk more about this?

Yes indeed! My room was featured in the book entitled ‘Otacool’, a play on the word Otaku, a Japanese term for people with obsessive interests, especially Anime and Manga. This book is a photo collection of the rooms of collectors from all over the world and is published by Kotobukiya in collaboration with Danny Choo.

I would like to take this chance to thank them for giving me the opportunity to have my room featured!

– You have a video series, tell me more about this.

I’m currently producing a video series on YouTube where I review figures, merchandise and anything that as to do with Japanese pop culture. I was originally inspired by the legions of Transformers Figure Reviews on YouTube and decided to start reviewing Anime figures, as Anime Figure Reviews were scarce at that point in time.

One of the reasons I review figures is to share my love and passion for the hobby with other collectors and fans around the world. Another thing that I hope to accomplish through my reviews is to provide people with an objective view of the figure, taking a closer look at its details, articulation and accessories. By doing so, it will allow them to make a more informed purchase. Right now, the two main figure lines that I’m focusing on are the figma and Robot Damashii line.

– Will you be venturing into related job/ fields in future?

As the saying goes: ‘Do what you love, love what you do’. Keeping that adage in mind, hopefully, I’ll be able to enter a job where my passions come into play. Be it in media, IT or Animation.

———

Thanks to everyone for their continued support and encouragement! I appreciate it more than you can imagine. If not for you guys, I don’t think I would have been able to be where I am now. (^.^)

38 Responses to An Interview With Actar

  1. Ami says:

    Wow that’s so awesome. You spoke very well. :)

  2. Actar says:

    @ Ami: Thanks! I’m pretty used to interviews and the like. Gave numerous speeches in the past and was a freelance columnist for the local paper awhile back.

  3. Kurai says:

    Awesome job on the interview!

  4. very nice Actar, great interview :)

  5. Great job on the interview! Like Ami said, you spoke excellently.

  6. […] was oly allow 4 mins so a numberous things were cut out for the whole interview pls visit https://actar.wordpress.com/2010/01/29/an-interview-with-actar/#more-2115 […]

  7. NRGCLICK says:

    Nice job Actar enjoyed hearing your views and opinions of anime. Unfortunately for us fellow otaku figure collectors it’s hard for the outside world to have understanding of our passion for figure’s they see it as a children toys but there so much more than that. I’m 25 and love collecting figure’s and 100% agree that it keeps an inner child alive in us which I beleive is a very important aspect within our lives.

    Great interview A++ on the english hope to see more and hear more on your views of anime your fellow otaku…

  8. RedMetallix says:

    Nice interview! You look completely different from what I imagined, but thats not a bad thing!

  9. Dysx says:

    Wow u speak so fluently ( sorry if i spelled it wrong ) , and awesome on the interview , and wow ur room look so nice with so many anime figures

  10. Hayasaki says:

    Woooo nice interview Actar! You have done great =D

  11. Alexeon says:

    That was a great interview! You were so eloquent. I couldnt have expressed my love for anime and figures better.

  12. KaneTheMessias says:

    First Otacool now OMY.
    Thats totaly awesome!
    I couldn’t say it better about the love for it^^
    Just to let you know
    Marisa Kirisame (Touhou) is going to be released!
    Don’t let her get away!

    http://www.goodsmile.info/product/en/2796/figma+Kirisame+Marisa.html

  13. Actar says:

    @ KaneTheMessias: Just pre-ordered her yesterday! (^.^)

  14. Matteas says:

    Very nice! I really loved the way you expressed the spirit and passion of anime and figure lover.

  15. Shazzsteel says:

    Fantastic, you pretty much spoke what is going through the head’s of the otaku community.

    You spoke very well like the others have mentioned, I wish I could speak that well. Spoken like a professor imo.

    Nice choice for a favourite figure. I’ve been trying to track down that Fate figure for a while. >.<

  16. Actar says:

    @ Kurai: Thanks! (^.^)

  17. Actar says:

    @ optimisticpengiun: Thanks so much!

  18. Actar says:

    @ Archangel Shear: Thanks so much! (^.^)

  19. Actar says:

    @ NRGCLICK: Like many, I do have strong opinions on the things that I love: anime, figures and the like. When I love something, I always try my best to defend it, promote it and correct any misconceptions about it.

    Thanks for the props about my English! It is one of my best subjects. (^.^)

  20. Actar says:

    @ RedMetallix: I get that a lot! (^o^)

  21. Actar says:

    @ Dysx: Thanks a lot for the props!

  22. Actar says:

    @ Hayasaki: Appreciate the praise! (^.^)

  23. Actar says:

    @ Alexeon: Thanks so much! When I love something, I get really passionate about it and want to share my experiences and opinions on my hobby with everyone. (^.^)

  24. Actar says:

    @ Matteas: Thank you so much! I tried my best to give my honest opinions about the things that I love and if my passion comes across, that’s fantastic!

  25. Actar says:

    @ Shazzsteel: In many parts of the world, Anime and Figure collecting gives off a very different impression than what it actually is and all most fans want is to be understood. Thanks for the props regarding my speaking! I do have my fair share of giving speeches and interviews, just for other non-anime related things. (^.^)

  26. (ノゝ∀・)~キラ☆ Saitsu says:

    i really like wad u say in the interview

  27. phossil says:

    Cool you got an interview and quite a nice collection you have too!! ^^

  28. Otaku_Girl says:

    words 2 live by, actar! g8 job

  29. ironchefsanji says:

    That was a wonderfully entertaining interview! I must say, it was thanks to you that I started buying Figmas (given that I am now once again poor, but very happy!) Good job Actar and keep up the amazing work!

  30. Alexeon says:

    My first real collecting started with the Haruhi Figma, too.

    I had some Saint Seiya figures as well as a few models and gashapons before that but my collection really exploded when I started with Figmas..

  31. neosonic says:

    I am totally impressed by you, Bro :)
    I spent around 30 mins to see your video again and again. You can think outside the box, while remain optimistic in every situation. I find that this short video is really encouraging, and somewhat needs to be heard by many people.

  32. Actar says:

    @ neosonic: I am indeed honored! (^.^) As an Otaku, I do wish to spread the positive nature of this hobby and clear up any misunderstandings, along with my experiences with this hobby and how much it means to me.

    However, I do wish the interview was given more time, many things I said were cut out. (^.^)

  33. Alexeon says:

    You wouldnt happen to have a full version of the interview somewhere, would you?

  34. neosonic says:

    You deserved it man :) I’m saying it from the bottom of my heart

  35. Actar says:

    @ Alexeon: I don’t have the raw footage, but I wrote down and polished some of my ideas after in the written interview below the video.

  36. Alexeon says:

    I see. Thanks. Too bad they cut some stuff out but I guess thats only natural in an interview like that.

  37. samejima says:

    Just wow… I’d go speechless if ever being interviewed..

  38. scott says:

    you look familiar where have i seen you before

Leave a comment