Why I Couldn’t Watch an Anime I Loved Anymore

I present to you translated, a manga by a Pixiv artist that’s been making waves on the internet! A very interesting commentary on anime fandom and anime appreciation.

55569366_p0_master1200

Enjoy!

55569366_p1_master1200

55569366_p2_master1200

55569366_p3_master1200

55569366_p4_master1200

 

55569366_p5_master1200

Personally speaking, the fallacy that everyone’s making is assuming that there is some from of objectivity when it comes to criticism and anime appreciation. There is none. What there are are only opinions. If both the critic and the one listening to the critic understands this simple fact, these kinds of situations won’t even occur and both can say their piece. I believe that that is the true issue being raised in this comic.

Why, then, do many people want to claim that art can be objective? Pulling out my cynical side, I argue that they want to establish objectivity so that their own tastes can reign supreme over others. By applying value judgment to taste they can then feel like they are better human beings and look down on others for liking or disliking certain shows. For instance, the term “otaku-pandering” is just a way to “other” the otaku and make oneself feel superior to them. Not only that, this way of thinking only serves to make people feel inferior for liking shows that are deemed bad, necessitating the use of the term “guilty pleasure” to absolve themselves of their guilt. In fact, if you really think about it, every show is a guilty pleasure if you choose to follow someone else’s standards. In the end, I’d argue that it’s all about enjoyment. There are people who enjoy art that challenges them. There are people who enjoy art that moves them. There are people who enjoy art that impresses them. If you enjoy different kinds of art for different reasons, why is your enjoyment any less genuine, less valuable or less legitimate than the enjoyment of others?

2 Responses to Why I Couldn’t Watch an Anime I Loved Anymore

  1. TrustTheFungus says:

    Thanks! I was really hoping someone would translate this.

  2. alexeon says:

    I agree with what you are saying, but at the same time, there is that element of “can’t unsee” when someone points out something like badly proportioned art or bad quality animation. You might give it a pass on your first viewing but when someone points it out the first time, you can’t help seeing that error or mistake from there on out. Still, that elitist attitude that people adopt with regards to certain shows is a bit different than that. Like you said, in that case, its about people wanting to feel superior, not making observations about the art or quality.

    It may be a very insular thing to do, but if I enjoy a series I just finished watching, I won’t go and try to discuss it with others online so they don’t kill my enjoyment of it for a few days. That gives me time to think on it myself and lets me stew on my ideas about it. Then I can go and discuss it on /a/ and their opinions will be less likely to change my overall view of the show. That’s just me, though.

Leave a Reply

