I Just Watched Evangelion 3.33

This screencap from the K-On! movie sums up my reaction superbly and succinctly:

[Elysium] Eiga K-ON! (BD.1080p.AAC)[6E3A96D3].mkv_snapshot_00.40.00_[2013.06.09_16.36.42]

Spoilers ahead~

In my opinion, it was a fun and intriguing movie that was bold enough to take the series into a whole new (and, I dare say, fresh) direction, but it raised more questions than ans… heck, I don’t think it answered anything. It’s certainly rife with stuff to analyze, but I doubt I have the intellectual or emotional capacity for that undertaking. Was its goal to keep the viewer as in the dark and as confused as Shinji? It certainly worked.

From what I can tell, 3.33 was used mostly as a set-up for the final installment. I can only pray that 4.0 will do the entire Rebuild series justice by providing us with a rewarding and satisfying conclusion. (Wait, it’s Anno. Who am I kidding?)

Also, I absolutely love the fact that none of the footage nor the promised storyline from the preview at the end of 2.22 made it into the film. Did something happen to cause the movie to go in a whole different direction? Was the preview itself a troll from the beginning? We may never know.

P.S. Am I the only one who thinks that the whole “Curse of EVA” thing was just an excuse to be able to pull off the 14-year time skip without aging the fan favorite characters? I can’t say I blame them though, because I don’t think my heart could have withstood the sight of a 28-year-old Asuka…

2 Responses to I Just Watched Evangelion 3.33

  1. drawingirl94 says:

    You’re not the only one. I thought the whole “cure of Eva” thing was an excuse too. But I actually would have been interested to have seen a grown-up Asuka and Shinji. I think they would have aged well.

  2. Squiggsquasher says:

    Yeah, my reaction too. Also, it was absolutely terrifying but that’s par for the course with Eva.

    Bloody good film though. In my humble opinion, this was a lot closer to the Evangelion I know and love (that is to say, confusing and utterly horrific) than the first 2 films.

Leave a Reply

