Actar in Japan… Part 2! – Day 1: Tired Touchdown

Yup, as of writing this, it’s 9:45pm and I have arrived in Japan. Well, more accurately, I arrived more than 12 hours ago. Gonna keep this post short and sweet because I’m dead tired.


Unfortunately, I didn’t get much done on the first day.

Traveling really took a ton out of me. I’m don’t fall asleep easy, meaning to say that it was impossible for me to sleep on the plane and train rides to Tokyo.

Arriving at Narita Airport at about 7:30 JST, the check out procedure took about 2 hours and the train ride via the Narita express took about an hour. We were only able to find our hotel after about an hour’s exploring. By the time we checked into our hotel, it was around 12 and I took a nap as soon as I hit the bed. At that point in time, I had been awake for about 24 hours. Not too fun.

Not to mention, the sucky weather in Japan didn’t make things any eaiser. Being from Singapore, you’d think I’d be used to the heat. However, I am not. I loathe heat and I despise humidity. The day was both hot and humid. Urgh. I can’t bear to imagine how much hotter it will be when we go to Kyoto and explore…

Very first screening in za world at 7:30am!

However, I was ecstatic to finally receive my Nanoha Movie ticket, which I had delivered straight to the hotel.

So, the first thing I did after my nap was to scout out Shinjuku to familiarize myself with the surroundings.

Again, it was amazing seeing something that I had only seen in videos up till this point in real life.

Akihabara has definitely changed in the three years that I have been away. One of the most noticeable changes is that the buildings that were being built have been finished, changing the silhouette of Akihabara to a certain extent. Also, posters for the latest anime were plastered all over. Kind of sad that I didn’t manage to watch the first episodes of all of them before I embarked on this trip.

…and we managed to catch the fabled Nanoha trailer! There were supposed to be a ton more advertising around the Akihabara and Shinjuku areas, but I didn’t see any.

HUGE GAWAIN STATUE!!! Gah, that’s so damn cool. It was in a Cafe with a Code Geass theme. Some of their outlets have a Nanoha special promotion going on. I’ll see if I can visit one later on.

I’m not really sure what’s going on, but I did see a Radio Kaikan despite it being supposedly closed down for demolition and reconstruction. Perhaps it’s their new location? Maybe the building was actually closed? This matter requires further investigation.

For tomorrow, other than attending the Nanoha event, I also plan to visit Mandarakes Shibuya and Mandarake, along with exploring more of Akihabara. Brace yourself, wallet.

…and that’s pretty much it for today. Gotta hit the hay soon as I’ll be needing to wake up bright and early to catch the early trains to Shinjuku before the crowd gathers.

See you guys in the next post..

3 Responses to Actar in Japan… Part 2! – Day 1: Tired Touchdown

  1. alexeon says:

    I mentioned it earlier but I am quite jealous right now. It sounds like it’s going to be a lot of fun.

  2. my envy towards you for going to the nanoha premiere is beyond word. I wish i could be one of the first to see it on the big screen. I would have been giggling like a little girl the entire time though.

  3. Wow! I am VERY VERY jelous!! Going to Japan has always been a huge dream for me, so corgrats! Just by looking at the pictures you took, I can see that it looks NOTHING like where I live (America). Once again, congrats. Have a safe trip, and most of all, HAVE FUN!

Leave a Reply

