Transforming Getter Robo Paper ‘Doll’

I have a confession to make. Sometimes, when I should be studying, I make stuff out of paper card. What do I mean? Well, some of the ‘projects’ that I were more proud of were my transforming paper Transformers. There were basically something like a 2D Optimus Prime that when folded, would yield a 3D truck. In short, I love looking and analyzing the transformation process of robots and recreating it with paper.

So anyways, awhile back, around September 09, I was fuming over how there weren’t any ‘perfect change/transforming’ Getter Robo figures that didn’t cost a billion dollars (because Getter Robo is one of my all time favorite Super Robots). It was then I decided to make one for myself… out of paper.

And now, I’m sharing the fruits of my labor with you guys. (^.^)


Do note that this isn’t really a ‘perfect transformer’. As stated in the title, it’s more akin to the paper dolls of yore. The figure is made out of regular Que Card card and drawn/colored with Magic Marker. It mainly consists of various parts and pieces that link to each other via tabs that slide under staples – a system that I thought up of in Primary School. By re-arranging the various pieces, the figure can transform into either the separate Get Machines: Eagle, Jaguar and Bear or Getter 1, 2 or 3. The figure actually holds together pretty well and can be picked up and ‘posed’ without it falling apart.

I won’t go through the design process, but essentially, its inspiration came from Studio Half-Eye’s Perfect Transforming Getter Robo (the one that costs billions of dollars). Also, the paper figure is designed in such as way that there is no part swapping between the various Get Machines.

So, without further ado, here it is:

GET MACHINES

– Get Machines Eagle, Jaguar and Bear

– Get Machines Eagle, Jaguar and Bear (Back)

– Get Machine Eagle Parts (4 Pieces)

– Get Machine Jaguar Parts (7 Pieces)

– Get Machine Bear Parts (7 Pieces)

GETTER 1

– Eagle Getter 1 Configuration

– Jaguar Getter 1 Configuration

– Bear Getter 1 Configuration

– Change Getter 1

– Getter 1 (Back)

GETTER 2

– Eagle Getter 2 Configuration

– Jaguar Getter 2 Configuration

– Bear Getter 2 Configuration

– Getter 2

– Getter 2 (Back)

GETTER 3

– Jaguar and Eagle Getter 3 Configuration

– Bear Getter 3 Configuration

– Change Getter 3

– Getter 3 (Back)

———

Now, I made this paper figure way back in September 2009 when the only other alternative was a super-expensive, hard to find resin figure. One and a half years down the road…

I am simply ecstatic to say that during the recent Wonderfest, Freeing revealed a perfect change SD Getter Robo Figure! (^o^) Well, what do you know.

5 Responses to Transforming Getter Robo Paper ‘Doll’

  1. lahbrutie says:

    That’s kinda cute.

    Also, I like the system you came up with, kids are so clever sometimes…

  2. basics leotards

    Transforming Getter Robo Paper ‘Doll’ | Actar’s Reviews – The Blog

  3. Wow! At last I got a blog from where I can actually get
    valuable information regarding my study and knowledge.

  4. This piece of writing is really a pleasant one it helps new internet
    viewers, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  5. Elba says:

    If you are interested in topic: how much money do you make off youtube per view – you should read about Bucksflooder first

Leave a Reply

