Actar in Akihabara

The first of possibly a number of videos, chronicling my experince in the land of Anime to Figures and beyond. (^.^)

What better way to start than to show you guys a snippet of my time in Akihabara – The fabled land of Otaku… (Day 1 and 2 of my trip)

This video focuses more on the stores of Akihabara and proves that Akihabara really is, Otaku heaven. I mean… WOAH. And that was just one store.

While the video only shows the inside of Radio Kaikan, more details of the places and the various stores I visited, like Gamers, Toranoana, Animate and more, along with accompanying pictures, can be seen by clicking the ‘Actar in Japan’ tab. (^.^)

9 Responses to Actar in Akihabara

  1. Densha Otoko says:

    The first thing I want to go when I’m at Akihabara is to ” Gamers ” thats where Konata shops .

  2. konakonaotaku says:

    oh, man…that whole shelf of figmas…..*.* i would go nuts in that store. i guess i would be the “legendary girl A” in the lucky star world -_^

  3. Q says:

    You took these videos openly, especially inside shops? I’d have thought that it would have been disallowed inside shops unless you manage to get permissions or film to secretly o_o

    Funny how despite having been to Tokyo (and Akihabara) a few times, I have never gone inside a Gamer shop before; it has never really attracted me to go there for some bizzare reasons, but maybe it’s because I have not watched Lucky Star before? I don’t know. Radio Kaikan is indeed nice for a stroll, but Animate’s stuff are generally selling stuff at retail prices so I rarely buy stuff from there.

    I do need some really good recommendations for any possible future trips to Akihabara or even Nakano etc as I have started to realise (quite late I admit) that the availability of merchandise in Hong Kong is getting much better than I have ever imagined, unless there is an insider you know who knows this place pretty much inside out then I’d gladly appreciate it.

  4. This video stirs up memories of my trip…I have to go again! I don’t know when I’ll be able to, but I absolutely have to go there again someday. Hopefully soon.

  5. Alexeon says:

    Wow. Videos like this strengthen my resolve to learn Japanese and go to Japan. Great post!

  6. KaneTheMessias says:

    Cool they have a english voice too in the train.
    Ah all these figures and merch.
    this is really heaven^^
    If I only had the money for a trip >_<
    It would take so long to save money for a trip.
    looking forward for your next video^^

  7. konakonaotaku says:

    @KaneTheMessias: i beg 2 differ on the “heaven” quote from my perspective, but i would go crazy in gamers. idk if i would b respected by all otaku shop owners or kicked out of the store for emptying their store!

  8. Actar says:

    @ Q: Yup… Had to film secretly… I knew is wasn’t allowed, but I couldn’t bare to leave without any memories. (^.^:)

  9. Actar says:

    @ KaneTheMessias: Yup, it’s so surprising that Japan has advanced so much within the past 10 years to make things so much easier for foreigners. (^.^)

Leave a Reply

