Actar is Excited for AFA09

Untitled-2

With the new announcement of the inclusion of the Tokyo Figure Show in AFA09, it seems that the unbelievably humongous event just got bigger. (^.^;)


First off, I can’t say how excited I am. Words conveyed through the time space barrier known as the Internet cannot even hint at the level of excitement that I’m now at.

Seriously. I have never been more proud to be a Singaporean. The organizers are really pulling no punches when it comes to this event.

So, right now, in order to share my elation, let me share with you some of the things that I’m personally looking forward to at AFA09. (Even though most of you probably already know them…)

– TOKYO FIGURE SHOW X Danny Choo

http://www.afa09.com/dannychoo_experience.html

As stated above, Danny Choo, which I have started to view as a company, and Good Smile Company will be showcasing their figures at a section of AFA09. While I am super excited as I really wanted to experience a figure event for my self (hope to go to WonderFest one day), I’m slightly disappointed as only Good Smile Company figures will be featured. HOWEVER!

– Tamashii Nations (Bandai Experience Zones)

http://www.afa09.com/bandai_showcase.html

There will be a display of figures from Bandai’s Tamashii (or Damashii, why people use D instead of T I’ll never know) Series of figures. Since I’m a huge fan of the Robot T/Damashii line, I am really looking forward to this. Not a fan of Gundam so…

– I LOVE ANISONG

http://www.afa09.com/i_love_mayn.html
http://www.afa09.com/i_love_mizuki.html
http://www.afa09.com/i_love_shokotan.html
http://www.afa09.com/i_love_fukuyama.html

The next big thing will be the performances! Not only will Sheryl Nome and Aniki be returning, this year also features the debut of Shokotan (she sang the Gurren Lagann OP), who is huge in Japan, and a number of other artistes like Yoshiki Fukuyama and even Miku. (Yay for Miku fans, but I’m not particularly into Vocaloid.)

– K-FRIGGIN-ON!

sample_1c4a9f7707900660396253a153fedccc0ca14212

http://www.afa09.com/k-on_experience.html

As the section header states, it’s K-FRIGGIN-ON! OMGWTFBBQZOMGROTFLLOL! The Seiyuus of the main cast of K-On! will be making an appearance and reading lines from the show. Being somewhat a huge fan of the series, I’m definitely looking forward to their ‘recording session’ the most. If you don’t know who is my favorite girl yet, it’s hands down YUI!!! (Mio can cry in the corner. (^.^;))

– Other stuff…

To top this epic event off, we’ll be having Cosplay competitions, exclusives and of course, dealer rooms! Conventions are great excuses to spend a ton of cash. (^.^)

———

Well, now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, it’s time to get back to studying for my exams and hopefully I’ll be seeing you there at AFA09!

(I’ll post info on how you can identify me at a later date)

4 Responses to Actar is Excited for AFA09

  1. Steve says:

    I can explain why some people (myself included) use Damashii: that’s what it says on the boxes the figures come in. Now you know! ^^

    It seems like Bandai’s usage is that it’s a T for Tamashii Nation, but a D for Robot Damashii.

  2. Q says:

    Steve is right. It is Tamashii Nation but Robot Damashii. It’s some sort of language rule called Rendaku. You can read more about it here:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rendaku

  3. meimi132 says:

    I wish there was a convention like this in the UK….

    Quick question….
    You have one of Danny’s business cards… were they double or single sided? And if so, were they both colour?

  4. Lah Brutie says:

    Wow, I wish I could go to Singapore for this event…

    Speaking of Yui, are you getting Azone International’s doll?

Leave a Reply

