Anime Songs and Me

Just by typing 'music' into Gelboru, you get tons of hentai pics and a couple of aweome SFW ones like this.

Just by typing 'music' into Gelboru, you get tons of hentai pics and a couple of aweome SFW ones like this.

Have you ever noticed that during an Opening and Ending of an Anime, the animation will usually follow the song in terms of rhythm, beat or music style?

Anyways, in this article, I’ll be commenting on the uniqueness and significance of Anime songs in my life.


Here are some of my all time favourite openings in terms of song and Anime. (Not in order)

My Pace Diaoh – Genshiken

World End – Code Geass R2

Virgin’s High – Sky Girls

Catch You Catch Me – CC Sakura

Bamboo Beat – Bamboo Blade

Eternal Blaze – Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s

1000% Sparking (Version 4) – Negima! (I love Happy Material also)

Now, there are tons more openings and endings I love like Cruel Angel’s Thesis from Evangelion, Driver’s High from GTO, Motteke! Sera Fuku from Lucky Star, Bouken Desho Desho from TMOSH, Sekirei from Sekirei, the theme of Read or Die TV. But, instead of listing songs, it’s time to get to the main topic:

I’ve been wondering how are Anime openings created? I suppose the openings are animated after they have decided on the song, but it is amazing to see how much effort usually goes into creating an opening.

But whatever the case, do you enjoy Anime songs? I personally find Anime songs to be so much more meaningful and relaxing to listen to than your run of the mill average English song.

Why?

When ever I listen to a song, for instance, World End, I think about Code Geass. The association of the song to the Anime is undeniably strong.

Anime songs are important to me as they really help me to relax.

Even if I don’t understand the words, I find myself enjoying them to the fullest as well. Perhaps it is the magic of Anime… Who knows? And perhaps, this works the other way around as well. If you like an Anime, you’ll probably like the songs as well.

Strangely, I find myself drawn to the opening songs of Anime rather than the endings or insert songs. Though some ending songs are simply gorgeous: HARE HARE YUKAI ANYONE?

So, what do Anime songs mean to you and what are your favourites?

———

Now that the article is over, I really hope to update my blog more often. Now that my March common tests are around the corner, I should really be focusing more on my studies.

.

.

.

Yeah… As if that will happen… Anyways, more updates or articles soon to come. Strangely enough, I seem to be able to write better and have a more fluent train of thought when I’m typing in DC.com’s upload box. Will be porting some previously written issues over to my blog as I really feel that there are some issues that are worth discussing.

Oh, yeah. These are my latest reviews over the past few weeks: Do check them out if you haven’t done so yet! (!!!SHAMELESS PLUG ALERT!!!)

and the written review of the Lancelot Start Up Key USB Thumb Drive is here.

I also have been wondering if I should actually post the video reviews on my blog as I make them. I could use the blog as an avenue to give more information, closer details and behind the scenes stuff.

Will do a Fraulein VS. Figma post very soon.

Cheers.

8 Responses to Anime Songs and Me

  1. enish says:

    Listening to anime and J-Pop/J-Rock music is all a part of my love for music from around the world. I would much rather listen to a song in Chinese and get strange looks than listen to American hip-hop and be bored out of my mind. Anime music, along with classical and classic rock, is more appealing to me.

  2. Ubiquitial says:

    Concur

    What about the OP to Rozen Maiden? Or the Pani Poni Dash OP?

  3. Q says:

    I think that the studio would asks the artist/group to do the song long before it is aired as the composors will need time to compose and create lyrics for the specific theme to go with the anime.

    On the other hand, I pretty much listen to anime songs or J-pop these days. I don’t listen to English songs in the first place, and HK-pop is going downhill all the time -_-

  4. neosonic says:

    hhmm… my all time favorite is winter wish from love hina. That song is awesome. Unlike you, I’m more into insert song (eg. digimon evolution song), than op or ed.
    I like anime song because I don’t understand the lyric. Many of the times, the song’s lyric spoil the quality of the music itself.
    So, instead of hearing swearing words or twisted logic in the lyric that I can understand. I will prefer to be numb and listen to anime song :p

  5. Actar says:

    @ Ubi: Rozen Maiden’s OP is alright, though their songs tend to be similar…

    @ Q: It is indeed a painstaking process. Makes me feel kinda guilty for skipping over the into and ending a number of times. (^.^;)

    @ neosonic: ARGH! Almost forgot. DIGIMON SONGS!!! I love all of them. From Openings to Digivolution music. All of them are made of win. My favourites would have to be Biggest Dreamer, Card Slash and With the Will.

  6. neosonic says:

    yea… digimon songs ftw.
    My favourites are Evo, Believer, and Card Slash ^^.

  7. aswome somone else who enyjoys and fells the same way about the themes i think there amzing i made it my duty to learn evrey single theme of by heart from evrey anime i watch,and i havent let myslef down yet

  8. Dysx says:

    i love listening to anime and J-pop songs , all my electronic devices will surely have one japanese song

Leave a Reply

