The New Year is Upon Us!!!

Every occasion is a Lucky Star one!

Every occasion is a Lucky Star one!

Well, today is the last day of the year. Thus, with the new year coming in less than 24 hours, I’ve decided to take stock of this year.


1216995051602

When are you ever wrong?

When are you ever wrong?

It was indeed a wonder as to how I was able to cram all that game playing, Anime watching, figure collecting, news updating and review making together with all the other useless stuff such as studying and eating.

How do you manage your time? As I am a student, it would also be interesting to hear how my fellow working Otakus keep their Jobs and hobbies.

Personally, my daily live (during school days) is like so: (note that traveling and eating times are not included)

School: 7.15am to around 3.00pm
Internet/Anime/Games/Nap: 4.00pm to6.00pm
Homework/Studies: 6.00pm to 10.00pm
Internet/Anime/Games: 12.00am to 1.30am
Sleep: 1.30am to 7.00am

…and it continues to the next day. Of course, sometimes I’ll be doing work during my IAG time and vice versa. I’m not really one to keep to schedules as evidenced by me leaving my holiday assignments till the last 2 weeks of the school holidays to accomplish…

lucky-star-0200826505-15-46

lucky-star-0200853905-15-27

How about you? Ever feel like you are missing too much in either your work/school or figure/anime? I was lucky enough to have found a certain balance to keep averagely good grades this year while still keeping up on my fill of Anime and figure collecting. Hope I can do the same for next year!

Also, I haven’t really had a lot of time to update my blog as I have been playing:

ubw

Yup. This is indeed the original visual novel. I also have the voice files patched to the PC game that were extracted with the PS2 version. For some reason, probably due to the PS2 game Fate/Unlimited Codes, Archer and his Unlimited Blade Works:

So, as I pray... Unlimited Blade Works!

So, as I pray... Unlimited Blade Works!

I’m all over the Fate/Stay Night franchise all over again. I recently realised that Archer is now my favourite character from the series. Thus making Rin and Archer my favourite pair.

Other things of importance, I obviously wasn’t able to go to Comiket 75 this year, but I hope to go next year. This year, one of the highlights in terms of non-figure releases is the extension pack for the doujin game Magical Battle Arena which adds:

charalistvitavj7

Vita

081115md1

Hayate

charalistnanohastsqw1

and StrikerS Nanoha…

…to the already star-studded cast. Indeed I’m ecstatic as not only will I be able to recreate famous battles like the one from the first episode of A’s, Vita is also my second favorite character from the series, first being Fate (for obvious reasons…):

plasma-lancer-2

Yup. The above is a screenshot from the game with Fate using her Plasma Lancer attack. Needless to say, the game is one of the best Doujin games ever made. Period.

img_4371

On a side note, the above pic is of my Alter Fate posing with a recently acquired Baradich staff in Harken (scythe) form, my absolute favourite mode.

img_4220

On another note, I’m also in the process of writing a review of the 1/72 VF-25S model from Macross Frontier that I spent 15 hours making.

img_4308

Two preview pics above of the one of the most awesome models ever. Of course, the stickers haven’t been applied yet as I still like to transform it now and then. Being fully transformable, the temptation is pretty hard to resist. (^o^)

Last but not least, for those of you who don’t visit my YouTube channel, check out the latest review I made of the one and only GAWAIN. Lelouch’s first personal Knightmare Frame. The figure is from the Robot Tamashii line and cost me 6800 yen. Here it is:

MECHA MUSUME GAWAIN!

MECHA MUSUME GAWAIN!

I mean:

All in all, I can say with absolute certainty that it has been one heck of a year, with one of the highlights being my first full year of Anime obsession. Hope that you and your family have had a wonderful year and will have another great year to come!

P.S. Here’s a picture relating to something that will happen in the future:

code-geass-06da-animeorg01859306-03-15

9 Responses to The New Year is Upon Us!!!

  1. nintendokid says:

    didnt you recently post this on DC……
    But anyway another good post i loved the MBA and i cant find the 4.7 disc but the second i do i playin straight away

  2. acesan says:

    Great stuff Actar. I’ve been playing Fate Stay Night (the same version you have with patch) a bit as well, and it made me rethink that I really do like Rin now that I know more about her.

    Also, so you did decide to get the Bandai Model version of the VF22s! I hope I had some influence there, but the model does really look better, plus it is cheaper :P. You just need to put a bit more effort into it, but I reckon it is well worth it. You’re actually much more ahead than I am in making it – I’ve got a few other models stacked up that takes time :P

    Anyways, happy new years in advance, and hopefully you meet your goals for this coming year.

    PS The good thing about having a job is that you don’t have any homework if you have good time management skills and finish projects at work ^^. Though other types of jobs don’t even have that, you just clock in and clock out. My job involves projects and project management so if I don’t finish on time, I will need to work from home, but I haven’t had to do that all that much, not unless there was an emergency change going on… otherwise I love working a lot more than I did studying!

  3. loli1983 says:

    I had a rough year. I had to sacrifice a lot of my relationships with friends i had for maybe 3 years. There is an upside and a downside to this though. The upside is that i separated myself from a group of people who weren’t helping me with my life. The result of this is i started smoking & drinking less plus i quit illegal graffiti. In fact i haven’t smoked or drank anything since October. The downside is when i remember all the good times we had in those 3 years that will never come back brings me a lot of pain. It hurts more when they felt bitter that i gave up on a lot of things that weren’t helping me and getting me into trouble. I just turned 25 and i’m taking 2009 to heal completely and finally clear my head of all things and decide what I will be doing with my life.

    Anime has saved my life in 2008 as well. 2008 marked the year i watched more Anime than ever before. I got into blogging, i started going to conventions and I even made new friends that i recently spoke with. Some of which i will be reunited with at Anime Expo 2009 in July. I might have given up on some of the things that kept me happy in the past but Anime is always there for me to keep me company through those depressing moments.

    Anyway my monday – friday schedule is:
    4:30 am: wake up
    5 am: head out to work
    6am: arrive at work
    3pm: Off of work
    4-6pm(sometimes i don’t go straight home): arrive home from work
    6-10pm: Anime/Gaming/Drawing/Dinner/Bath
    10pm: Sleep

    My weekends are always different but usually i’m not at home from 12-6pm

    P.S. No school for me. Maybe in 2009.

    ^___^

  4. garturo62 says:

    I’m betting your thinking of doing a review on the almost 1/1 scale Zero mask. lol_^-^

  5. Persocom says:

    Have you gotten FSN Unlimited Codes to work? I don’t have a clue what to do with the ISO but I got it… think you could direct me somewhere that explains it? I need to find FSN too, I got Hollow/Ataraxia but it’s not english patched yet. At least you have a schedule, I’m pretty sloppy… the main thing is that I put my son to sleep by 9 PM… that’s about it.

  6. Actar says:

    @ Persocom: Yup, just burn it to a regular 4.7 GB DVD-R and it should run on a normal cracked PS2. :)

  7. Rallis says:

    Did u get the almost 1/1 scale zero mask replica. Awesome Can’t wait to see that review I was planning on buying it.

  8. Q says:

    Nice review on the Gawain! Btw which line is the Lancelot you have there from, and is it in the same scale as Gawain??

  9. Otaku_Girl says:

    r those the nendoroid petits in pic 2? if so, r they interchangable w/ regular figmas? i wrote a lettr 2 goodsmile comp. last year but they nevr wrote back… :(

Leave a Reply

